Party favours!

So I’m the kind of mum who is not so keen on traditional party bags for many reasons:

>they’re often full of sugary snacks and treats that get scoffed down before you can intervene

>they get chucked out and end up on landfill

>they are a kind of throw away toy, they don’t teach anything about valuing material possessions

>they cost such a lot, and after giving up work I am on a money saving mission like never before!

What I do believe, however, is that it is lovely to gift guests a little thank you for coming along and spending their time with you.

image

So with that in mind, I created these flower pots to give out to Baby R’s friends and family for attending his first birthday.

The pots were bought from a local DIY centre costing 79p each.  I painted them with left over bits and bobs I found in the husband’s shed and then decorated them with spots of colourful pain and ribbon.  I also made some luggage labels using cereal boxes and fixed them on to the ribbon.  I put a personal message on each of them for the guests, and popped in some basil seeds with some growing instructions I wrote by hand.  I bought 2 packets of seeds that cost 99p each and divided them between the 20 favours and wrapped each portion of seeds in a little bit of foil.

Ta-da!

Personalised, keep sake, sensory, stimulating and educational party favours for less than £1 per head!  Now that’s cause for celebration!

image

Leave a Reply

